top of page

Good Gym growing King's Christmas Trees


Last night the amazing runners at GoodGym delivered King’s Christmas Trees flyers and I got to join them.


GoodGym combines running with volunteering and they have become fabulous partners through Big Red Box and King’s Christmas Trees. In addition to their Monday missions, people can also make visits to lonely people as well as volunteering at other times during the week. They are really worth checking out. So once we had all gathered I explained what the Jericho Road Project is and how trees equals food and resources for people in need. We then headed out from the Glass Mill leisure centre with 12 others into the cold evening.


Thankfully with running between houses and obviously a little bit of competition I think we all stayed warm and successfully distributed all the flyers.


This year I have been more relaxed about the Christmas Tree counter which is on the front page of our website – in previous years I have waited on virtually every sale and there have been a few occasions when I panicked when the counter was not moving – Is the website still working?


Whoever was working with me would need to calm me down and remind me that there is a lull every year and that the website is still fully functioning! This year I have looked at the total a lot less, only every few hours rather every few minutes! One of the reasons is that the trees have been selling extremely well this year – we are 72 up on this day last year! We have already sold far more than we did for each of the first three years! But personally it is much healthier way to operate. To enjoy the important things rather than stress about things out of my control.

My late mother-in-law was the best tree count watcher. She would start her day during November and December by looking at the count, then she would often send me an encouraging messages and ask were we ahead of last year.


Ultimately we want to have happy customers and sell out of trees every year because that guarantees the best amount of money to help people in need. We have only ever aimed to grow at 10% each year because we don't want to overstretch ourselves and this year I hope we sell 740 trees.


And the exciting news for 2019 is that we have added another collection site this year – at Abbotshall Healthy Lifestyle Centre in Catford on Sunday 8th December between 12noon and 2pm. So if you live in the Corbett Estate it the easiest collection point. There is a café on site so it will be a great addition to the King's Christmas Tree story.


So thanks to everyone who has posted on social media, told neighbours, family and friends – I massively appreciate your support. I haven’t actually ordered my tree yet, another sign that I am feeling more relaxed – although perhaps I will be grateful that I can personally get the tree counter moving if there is a quiet sales day.



bottom of page